Springtime

Spring is here. Forget your ground hog day; the real way to welcome the arrival of spring is by sitting on a roof top bar and having a few day time beers. It was a task that three friends and I welcomed with open arms this Saturday, soaking in the sunlight on a decked roof by the Bell Tower.

124527573_301n

One of the Pedi-cab drivers sat by the square below had got his hands on a Karaoke set and was covering a wide range of cheesy hits, the highlight of which was a fantastically out of tune version of Take My Breath Away from Top Gun. It definitely did take my breath away, just maybe not in the way he’d hoped.

Unfortunately, it’s not all good news now that the Spring time has come. Until the fridges get turned back on some time in mid-May, all you can get your hands on are warm beverages. You open the fridge in the mild hope that it will contain a nice, icy treat, but instead you’ll be rewarded with a tepid bottle of disappointment and the fusty reek of warm plastic. It’s alright in winter because it’s cold enough in corner stores for the drinks to be pretty much chilled, but come spring time you no longer have this advantage. This period only lasts for about six weeks either side of summer, but every time it comes by I am left wondering how anybody could enjoy beer or Coke at room temperature.

Still, I shouldn’t be a sour Susan, it’s warm again!

About Greg

A simpleton from West Yorkshire, England living in Beijing. I try to document the oddities, frustrations and funnies that happen to me whilst out here. Hopefully you enjoy reading these little episodes as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in China Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Springtime

  1. joe says:

    I like the use of the word ‘fusty’ here. What I do at the local shops selling beer is find a place that sells ice-cream as well. Buy a couple of bottles and ask the shop keeper to keep them in the freezer until they are ready.

    • Greg says:

      Thanks, Joe! I’m glad you approve of my lexical decisions.
      There are hacks to get icy beverages, but they all take time.
      I usually buy a load of beers and keep them in the fridge, and I just avoid soft drinks until the fridges get turned on (which is probably for the best in all honesty).

Leave a Reply

