How Not To Do Holidays

Let me be the first one to say that the holiday system in China is one of the most backward and ridiculous things I’ve ever had the misfortune of coming across.

Out here, the amount of paid holiday days employees get sits at around 5 days per year. Haemorrhage-inducingly shit, I know. Saying that though, there are quite a lot of national holidays that people get off.

But if you get a national “holiday”, you have to repay the days you get off by working on your weekend. Clearly there is a fear of increasing the happiness and efficiency of employees in Chinese companies;  after a 6 or 7 day week employees are predictably listless and inefficient. A combination of being tired and resenting the system, I assume.

Here is a copy of my work calendar for September and early October.

key

Ridiculous

Ridiculous or what? I guess I shouldn’t complain though. I do get 4 days of Holiday this month (I only consider week days and days I don’t have to do “pay back” for to be actual holiday!!), but having to work my weekends afterwards leaves a sour taste in my mouth. It’s like somebody giving you a massage, then punching you in the face afterwards just so they can get even.

The main problem with national holidays (aside from having to work to get them), of course, is that China has the world’s largest population. Just try going to a scenic spot on a day where every single office worker in Beijing is on holiday. You might catch a glimpse of green through the masses of people… if you wait patiently for an hour or two. Think I’m exaggerating? Prepare your eyes…

Great Wall

National Day Holidays on the Great Wall

Yup, I wasn’t exaggerating.

You won’t be catching me anywhere near Beijing’s top tourist destinations these holidays, I’ll be chilling at home, catching up on sleep and TV shows. Can you blame me?

About Greg

A simpleton from West Yorkshire, England living in Beijing. I try to document the oddities, frustrations and funnies that happen to me whilst out here. Hopefully you enjoy reading these little episodes as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in China Life, Rants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Not To Do Holidays

  1. freeflyvpn says:

    I angry with you. It is very bad holiday system in China. I am living in Shanghai. I went to Beijing on national holiday last year. So many many many…… people. I don’t want to go out any more for holiday. Stay home, cook delicious food, and watch TV shows are very well.

  2. freeflyvpn says:

    Sorry. I type wrong word. I agree with you not angry….

Leave a Reply

