The Beijing Bikini

The Beijing Bikini

When the summer heat flares up in China, a strange and unsightly phenomenon occurs. This phenomenon has been given the name “Beijing Bikini” (BB). For those of you who are expecting beautiful Asian women in bikinis, I am sorry to tell you that you are about to be scarred for life disappointed. A Beijing Bikini is when a man who is too hot decides to roll up his shirt to just above his belly, but not quite take it off. He does this partly because it’s incredibly handsome, and partly as a way of dealing with the heat without having to completely remove the garment.

Disclaimer: Any mental, retinal or physical scarring as a result of seeing these photos is not the responsibility of Greg’s China. You have been warned.

For the purpose of this post, BB will be rated on situation, belly size and How Many Shits Are Given (HMSAG)(HMSAG rating will be inverted: 1 would mean being aware of your surroundings, whilst 10 would be not giving a solitary shit).

.

#1

IMG_3593

This BB looks like it may have promise; the rolling of the t-shirt shows advanced skill, definitely not the work of a beginner. The photo seems to have been taken in some sort of temple, but it’s hard to capture details from the close up back shot, and therefore it suffers on rating.

Situation: 3

Belly Size: N/A

HMSAG: 5

Overall: 4

.

#2

VnUgPh

This man is no stranger to the camera. That position belies a life long career in BB modelling. Although his belly is a little pitiful size wise, that “come hither” pose earns some extra points.

Situation: 5

Belly Size: 2

HMSAG: 7

Overall: 4.6

.

#3

beijing bikini

We’re clearly dealing with a higher level of BB at this point. Not only is he pulling up his britches and grimacing, he’s also wandering around Tiananmen Square with family in tow. A sizeable belly earns some extra points.

Situation: 8

Belly Size: 6

HMSAG: 8

Total: 7.3

.

#4

tumblr_l8u1njALqt1qze0zl

Although the belly on this BB-er is laughable when compared to the pros, the lack of shits given and this excellent stance are enough to earn this whippersnapper a ranking.

Situation: 9

Belly Size: 1

HMSAG: 9

Total: 6.3

.

#5

csr

Masterful. Not only does he seem to be in some sort of museum, the poignant look of longing in his eyes couples with the BB to make for an excellent shot. The belly is also clearly large enough to hold up the shirt of its own accord.

Situation: 8

Belly Size: 7

HMSAG: 6

Total: 7

.

#6

Chinese Shirt Roll 128

Well, what can I say? I think we’ve found a winner here. A look of absolute apathetic indifference to the incredibly busy pedestrian street he’s walking on, a mighty belly and a t-shirt pulled up so high there’s even side boob.

Situation: 7

Belly Size: 9

HMSAG: 9

Total: 8.3

Which is your favourite? Have you witnessed a Beijing Bikini first hand?

About Greg

A simpleton from West Yorkshire, England living in Beijing. I try to document the oddities, frustrations and funnies that happen to me whilst out here. Hopefully you enjoy reading these little episodes as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in China Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Beijing Bikini

  1. I personally admire the promulgators of the shoulder height wrapped T.

  2. daisyraphael says:

    Oh my god, my best friend Patrice who is a Canadian living in Shanghai will DIE laughing when she sees this. I sent her the link. Can women rock the BB?

    • Greg says:

      Haha, glad it could make somebody laugh!
      I can’t say I’ve ever seen a woman rocking the BB – in China women can show as much leg as they want, but they very rarely show their stomach area. I think it’s perhaps a cultural no-no

  3. Michelle says:

    just drop a line to say hi, and I really like your post. Such fun! btw,I’m a chinses and I like ur post so much that i translated it into chinese and posted on my blog. Here is the link http://www.jianshu.com/p/d0427822a9b1,if this’s offended u in any sence,pls let me know and I’ll delete it right away. I’ve also translated another post“Fire”,http://www.jianshu.com/p/e0fa7a8f7348,I’m planning to translate more of ur posts here…

    U can contact me via my email qiliejing@126.com

    • Greg says:

      Hi Michelle – thank you for translating my article, I’m honoured! I sent you an email, please let me know when you get it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

