Too Old To Club

I somehow allowed myself to get persuaded by friends to go to a club the other weekend, for the last time ever. Here is why.

It’s a savagely polluted night, I can just about make out the dull flash of a neon sign from an adjacent building through the smog. I stand with an overpriced beer in my hand and look out onto the wall of grey, wondering what the hell I’m doing here. A younger me would have downed that beer and gone for another one, but I’m not feeling it.

I look over to the bar. A foreign guy tries his luck chatting up a local girl. She bites.

I take another look at the sea of smoke that surrounds us and turn back to see a happy drunk who wants to engage me in conversation.

“Look at that”, I say pointing to the pollution. “What are we doing here?”

He grabs my shoulders and turns me around.

That” he points “is why we’re here.”

I see a mass of writhing bodies, drunkenly grinding to an auto-tuned chart topper.

edance

Christ. That was the clarity I needed. I put down my half finished beer and go.

Past the piles of vomit and smashed glass.

Past the clashing music that comes from different bars.

Past the street hawkers trying to sell me cigarettes and prostitutes.

I get into a taxi and leave. I’m too old for this shit.

About Greg

A simpleton from West Yorkshire, England living in Beijing. I try to document the oddities, frustrations and funnies that happen to me whilst out here. Hopefully you enjoy reading these little episodes as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too Old To Club

  1. S says:

    I’m too much old than u to club,down with that ages ago:( sad bt happy:) u’ve been so emotional,I read the last blog u wrote.. friends leaving,sort of getting tired of Beijing,anyway wish u feel better soon.. life goes on,be positive,and follow ur heart.. friend’s hug

Leave a Reply

