The Hunt Begins

The time has come again where I have to find a new flat. Now, I’ve not exactly had the greatest luck in the world with flats; be it landlord, flatmate or agent.

Let me give you a little breakdown of my past 2 + years of housing experiences.

My landlord in the final year of university was a 40 year old Sikh wannabe-gangster who wore about 10 gold rings and had an IQ of the same figure. He was too much of a moron to screw us out of money but it didn’t stop him from trying. Then, upon arriving in Beijing, there was a brief period when I stupidly decided that as a student I could definitely afford a £400 per month one person apartment. Suffice to say, 3 months, one deposit and one agency fee down the line (nice to have known you £800!), I responded to a “seeking room-mate advertisement”, and oh-so-stereotypically ended up living with a nut job who was screwing me and another guy out of the entire rent of the flat. After that hideous debacle, I moved in with one friend and two acquaintances. As I was back in England visiting family when the flat was agreed upon, I ended up with the smallest room, which was about 3 cubic meters. Additionally, one of the “acquaintances” turned out to be an overly privileged, mentally unstable, meth-head (yay!). We got on like a crack den house on fire…

So, given my rather chequered history, I’m sure you can imagine my trepidation as I began the search for a new flat. Owing to past mistakes, this time round I made damn sure that I knew all of my flatmates prior to the move in.

Great flatmates aside, the search didn’t get off to the best of starts; the agent didn’t have a clue as to where the flat he was supposed to be showing us was. We were just zooming about hutongs (old Beijing alleys) on the back of scooters, slowly losing feeling in our toes for about 20 minutes. When we finally got to the place, the floor was covered in paint, the bathroom and kitchen looked like they hadn’t been cleaned since the dark ages and there was no lounge! “How did he get it so wrong?” I thought.

Given that the second flat he took us to look at had damp, a cockroach infestation, and he couldn’t find the way AGAIN, I figured out the answer was just that he was utterly USELESS!

Thankfully, we got the number of an agent who has houses that beings with less than 6 legs might consider living in, and he managed to fix us up with a place pretty sharpish, which we’ll be moving into come Friday (woo!).

So, wish me luck. Here’s to hoping my spell of bad fortune has come to a very welcome end!

About Greg

A simpleton from West Yorkshire, England living in Beijing. I try to document the oddities, frustrations and funnies that happen to me whilst out here. Hopefully you enjoy reading these little episodes as much as I enjoy writing them.
This entry was posted in China Life, Rants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Hunt Begins

  1. We dropped by! Thank you for having us 🙂

Leave a Reply

